

## Annual General Meeting (AGM) – Minutes (v1.0) Monday 18 November 2024 – held online

The Cycling Ireland Off-road Commission up to this AGM were as follows:

<b>Commission Members</b>	Name
Chair	Geoff Robinson (stepped down)
Treasurer	Gareth Gibbons
Secretary	Martin Grimley
CX co-ordinator	Paul Birchall (stepped down)
DH co-ordinator	Bernie Commins
Enduro rep	Al Redmond
XC co-ordinator	Caroline Martinez (stepped down)
Trails Rep	Kevin Moran

#### Agenda for the AGM

_		
Minutes from last AGM		
Discipline reports		
Accounts		
Motions		
Elections		
AOB		

## 1. Minutes of 2023 AGM (25 September 2023)

The minutes were proposed by Al Redmond and seconded by Kevin Moran.

There were no questions.



#### 2. Discipline reports

#### <u>Cross-country (XC)</u> – presented by Martin Grimley.

- 5 rounds of the National Point Series (NPS) held this year. Thanks to Scott Cycles for their support of the series with banners, flags and prizes for the podium riders. Overall numbers down from last year.
- A successful National XC Championships held at Tonygarrow. Thanks to Team WORC for hosting.
- 3 riders sent to the 2024 World XC Championships in Andorra
  - o Greta Lawless 36/57
  - o Chris Dawson 54/71
  - Caoimhe May 43/45
- Kevin Moran taking on the role of XC Development officer. This is for (2nd year Under 16s, Juniors and Under 23s)

#### Cyclo-cross (CX) – presented by Martin Grimley

- 2023/2024
  - Good season which included UCI C2 Clonmel (2rd year) and the World Cup in Dublin for the second year.
  - National Championships went ahead. Thanks to Greenmount Cycling Academy. Numbers down from previous year.
- 2024/2025
  - Season looking healthy, events being registered. UCI C2 Clonmel (4<sup>th</sup> year) was held 14/15 October
  - o National Series 4 events in total, 2 done so far.
  - World Cup in Dublin going ahead again this year 30 November/1
     December.
  - National Championships are scheduled for January 2025 Ballinasloe Cycling Club to host.



#### Downhill (DH) - presented by Bernie Commins

- Three rounds of Irish Downhill Mountain Bike Series (IDMS). Thanks to all the clubs for hosting the events. Numbers are holding.
- DH National Championships held in Bree.
- Ireland had riders at the DH World Championships in Andorra. Elite Men Ronan Dunne (9/95), Oisin O'Callaghan (11/95), Henry Kerr (37/95), Jacob Dickson (45/95), Ross Ennis (73/95), Niall Clerkin (80/95), Christopher Cumming (85/95). Junior men Callum Morris (31/65), Ben Fitzsimon (61/65)
- DH training sessions with Tommy Magenat

#### Enduro - presented by Al Redmond

- Two weekends of youth / women's coaching in the Gap and in Ballyhoura with Ross Callaghan.
- Enduro World Championships arrived late in the calendar Greg Callaghan (5/128 - EDR) and Kelan Grant competing (25/35 – E-EDR).
- A reduced calendar in 2024 to avoid clashes with DH events and to help numbers.
- National Championships took place in August at Ravensdale. Numbers better than 2023.

#### Inter-provincial Youth MTB Competition – presented by Martin Grimley

- First year for this event which was held at the McCrystal Track in Co. Louth
- Based off the British Cycling Inter-provincial Mountain Bike Championships
- Focus on bike skills with a time trial, hill climb and team relay thrown in.
- 4 teams of 4 + 2 teams of 3
- Date submitted for 2025 is Sunday 7 September

## <u>Club MTB Trails</u> – presented by Martin Grimley

 Meetings have been restarted since the flow of meetings stopped in December 2021 between Coillte, Cycling Ireland and the Off-road Commission.



#### 3. Accounts

Original budget (submitted November 2023) was €44,520 across the 3 Strategies

- Participation outcomes
- Performance outcomes
- Leadership and enablers

A budget of €25K was confirmed with the commission on 15 February 2024

- 2024 spend to year end
  - XC €3,855.78
  - CX €10,902.69 \*1
  - DH €8,028.38
  - EN €2,042.50
  - General €143.23
  - TOTAL €24,972.58
  - Budget €25,000.00

#### 4. Motions

#### **MOTION 1**

Motion	I, Jamie Morris, Licence number CS-0233939 would like to put forward the		
	following motion - Gloves added to mandatory protective gear for U16's at		
	enduro events		
Seconder	Al Redmond		
Notes			
Vote outcome	Carried		



### **MOTION 2**

Motion	I, Alan Redmond, Licence number (25C30184) would like to put forward the following motion I wish to propose the introduction of two new categories for Enduro National Championships. Adult 19+ Male E - EDR	
Cocondor	Adult 19+ Female E - EDR	
Seconder	Andy Bichard	
Notes		
Vote outcome	Carried	

## **MOTION 3**

Motion	I, (Gareth Gibbons), Licence number (24LC2150) would like to put forward the following motion  Appx AT6 - Art 1 (12) It is the responsibility of the rider passing another rider (slower rider) to do so safely and to verbally identify which side they are passing the rider on (e.g. "on your left/right")	
Seconder	Marie Farrell	
Notes	A lot of discussion about rider education.	
Vote outcome	Not carried	

# MOTION 4

Motion	I, (Gareth Gibbons), Licence number (24LC2150) would like to put forward the		
	following motion		
	Appx AT6 Art 1 (12/13) On DH race tracks, where a B line has been provided, it		
	the responsibility of the race organiser to marshal the re-entry junction, so as to		
	provide a safe re-entry point for the rider (taking the B-line)		
Seconder	Bernie Commins		
Notes	Increased awareness for event organiser and for commissaires.		
Vote outcome	Not carried		

## **MOTION 5**

Motion	I, (Gareth Gibbons), Licence number (24LC2150) would like to put forward the following motion  Appx At6 - Art 1 (5) – Off-road discipline national championships cannot take place on the same weekend. The Nationals must be on a weekend that does not overlap with another national championship or UCI WC race.	
Seconder	Bernie Commins	
Notes	We need to have organised our dates by June of the previous year.	
Vote outcome	Carried	



#### 5. Elections

Tim O'Regan was nominated and confirmed for the role of Cyclo-cross Co-ordinator.

#### 6. Other business

Andy Birchard – ensure Enduro has equal budget similar to the other disciplines. Dan Byrne – for the downhill national championships – priority for championship classes, CI licence holders.

#### 7. Close of AGM

Martin thanked everyone for attending, their involvement in the discussions, and closed the AGM at pm.



#### **LIST OF ATTENDEES**

First Name	Last Name	Club
Claire	Young	Apollo Cycling Team
Brendan	Sludds	Bree Mountain Biking
Dan	Byrne	Bree Mountain Biking
Pierce	Doheny	Cuchulainn CC
Tommy	Magnenat	Cycleology Racing Team
Martin	Grimley	Dromara Cycling Club
Joelene	Browning	Dromore CC
Kevin	Moran	Epic MTB
Padraig	Ryan	Fermoy Cycling Club
Stephen	McGrath	Fermoy Cycling Club
Andy	Bichard	Galway MTB
Tara	Browne	Galway MTB
Jamie	Morris	Gortin MTB
Bernie	Commins	Gravity BC
Brian	McCarthy	MBCC
John	Roche	MBCC
Michael	Duffy	MBCC
Marie	Farrell	MTB Assoc of Dublin
John	Nolan	Navan Road Club
Luke	Potter	Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club
Martin	O Loughlin	Panduit Carrick Wheelers
Lorraine	Byrne	Racing 795
Niall	Murphy	Rostrevor Mountain Bike Club
Elizabeth	Roche	Scott Racing IRL
Kenneth	Mulvaney	Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club
Sean	O Sullivan	Team Ballyhoura
Gareth	Gibbons	Team WORC
Alan	Redmond	The GAP
Jenny	Deakin	Un-Attached Leinster
Mark	Harvey	VC Glendale
Anthony	Kenneally	Youghal Cycling Club

We were also joined by Paul Watson from Cycling Ireland.